Growing Futures

What is CRA8?

Maximising value from rock lobster

> Back to story
> Next

What is CRA8?

Commercial fishing in New Zealand is managed through a central Quota Management System, designed to maintain fish populations and fishery sustainability. New Zealand’s Exclusive Economic Zone is divided into ten Fisheries Management Areas (FMAs) which are independently managed to ensure sustainability of that fishery. For rock lobster, these are managed by Management Area Councils or CRAMACs (where CRA is the designation for rock lobster).

CRA8 is the area to the south of New Zealand and has the largest quota for rock lobster. New Zealand commercial fisheries have a Total Allowable Commercial Catch (TACC) of 2800 tonnes of rock lobster each year. The TACC for CRA8 is around 35% of the national quota at 962 tonnes.

Source: Ministry of Primary Industries